Criteria for Selection

The award is presented each year to a Case Western Reserve University faculty member who has provided distinguished teaching in the SAGES program. To qualify for a nomination, a faculty member must be an instructor of record during the current academic year.

Nomination Process
•Nominations for the award are solicited annually.
•All Case Western Reserve undergraduate students and recent alumni (within two years) may submit nominations.
•Nominations must explain how the student knows the nominee and why the nominee deserves to be recognized for excellence in undergraduate teaching.
•The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 30, 2018.

Selection Process

A selection committee will review the nominations and select one winner each year.


The Bloom Award winners will be recognized during the University’s Commencement weekend.

Please submit your nomination for the Richard A. Bloom, M.D. Award for Distinguished Teaching in the SAGES Program here.

Name of the Instructor:

Name of the SAGES Seminar:

How do you know the seminar leader?

Please write a paragraph or so explaining why this seminar leader deserves to be honored.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)